Tie World

Bow Tie - Designer Tie - Men Clothing - Men Fashion

Men Shoe - Men Shop - Men Watch - Replica Watch






A Watcher By The Dead

RRP $18.99

Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce (born June 24, 1842, assumed to have died sometime after December 26, 1913) was an American editorialist, journalist, short story writer, fabulist, and satirist. He wrote the short story "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge" and compiled a satirical lexicon The Devil's Dictionary. His vehemence as a critic, his motto "Nothing matters", and the sardonic view of human nature that informed his work, all earned him the nickname "Bitter Bierce". Despite his reputation as a searing critic, Bierce was known to encourage younger writers, including poet George Sterling and fiction writer W. C. Morrow. Bierce employed a distinctive style of writing, especially in his stories. His style often embraces an abrupt beginning, dark imagery, vague references to time, limited descriptions, impossible events and the theme of war. In 1913, Bierce traveled to Mexico to gain first-hand experience of the Mexican Revolution. While traveling with rebel troops, he disappeared without a trace. Bierce was considered a master of pure English by his contemporaries, and virtually everything that came from his pen was notable for its judicious wording and economy of style. He wrote in a variety of literary genres. His short stories are held among the best of the 19th century, providing a popular following based on his roots. He wrote realistically of the terrible things he had seen in the war in such stories as "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge", "The Boarded Window", "Killed at Resaca", and "Chickamauga". In addition to his ghost and war stories, he also published several volumes of poetry. His Fantastic Fables anticipated the ironic style of grotesquerie that became a more common genre in the 20th century. One of Bierce's most famous works is his much-quoted book, The Devil's Dictionary, originally an occasional newspaper item which was first published in book form in 1906 as The Cynic's Word Book. It consists of satirical definitions of English words which lampoon cant and political double-talk. Under the entry "leonine", meaning a single line of poetry with an internal rhyming scheme, he included an apocryphal couplet written by the fictitious "Bella Peeler Silcox" (i.e. Ella Wheeler Wilcox) in which an internal rhyme is achieved in both lines only by mispronouncing the rhyming words: The electric light invades the dunnest deep of Hades. Cries Pluto, 'twixt his snores: "O tempora! O mores! Bierce's twelve-volume Collected Works were published in 1909, the seventh volume of which consists solely of The Devil's Dictionary, the title Bierce himself preferred to The Cynic's Word Book.


Second Watch

RRP $19.99

With Second Watch, New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance delivers another thought-provoking novel of suspense starring Seattle investigator J. P. Beaumont.
 
Second Watch shows Beaumont taking some time off to get knee replacement surgery, but instead of taking his mind off work, the operation plunges him into one of the most perplexing mysteries he's ever faced.
 
His past collides with his present in this complex and thrilling story that explores loss and heartbreak, duty and honor, and, most importantly, the staggering cost of war and the debts we owe those who served in the Vietnam War, and those in uniform today.


Go Set A Watchman

RRP $13.99

Harper Lee's recently discovered novel, 'Go Set a Watchman', has set the literary world alight. Its publication has been celebrated among 'To Kill a Mockingbird' fans but has also caused a great deal of controversy. For anyone reading this exciting new arrival on the literary scene, here is the ideal companion guide. Whether you are a member of a book group, or simply reading Go Set a Watchman for pleasure, this clear and concise guide will greatly enhance your reading experience. Written by a specialist in literature, it provides literary context, an examination of the controversy surrounding the novel's release and a detailed analysis of the text itself. The guide includes a commentary on each chapter, a glossary of the many historical references in the novel and analyses of themes and characters. It also provides a short summary of Lee's debut novel, To Kill a Mockingbird, as well as points of comparison between the two novels. For those studying Go Set a Watchman for a reading group, there are also twenty-four thought-provoking discussion questions to consider, as well as further reading recommendations.


Connectivity Conservation Management

RRP $378.99

In an era of climate change, deforestation and massive habitat loss, we can no longer rely on parks and protected areas as isolated 'islands of wilderness' to conserve and protect vital biodiversity. Increasing connections are being considered and made between protected areas and 'connectivity' thinking has started to expand to the regional and even the continental scale to match the challenges of conserving biodiversity in the face of global environmental change. This groundbreaking book is the first guide to connectivity conservation management at local, regional and continental scales. Written by leading conservation and protected area management specialists under the auspices of the World Commission on Protected Areas of IUCN, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature, this guide brings together a decade and a half of practice and covers all aspects of connectivity planning and management The book establishes a context for managing connectivity conservation and identifies large scale naturally interconnected areas as critical strategic and adaptive responses to climate change. The second section presents 25 rich and varied case studies from six of the eight biogeographic realms of Earth, including the Cape Floristic Region of Africa, the Maloti-Drakensberg Mountains, the Australian Alps to Atherton Corridor, and the Sacred Himalayan Landscape connectivity area (featuring Mount Everest.) The remarkable 3200 kilometre long Yellowstone to Yukon corridor of Canada and the United States of America is described in detail. The third section introduces a model for managing connectivity areas, shaped by input from IUCN workshops held in 2006 and 2008 and additional research. The final chapter identifies broad guidelines that need to be considered in undertaking connectivity conservation management prior to reinforcing the importance and urgency of this work. This handbook is a must have for all professionals in protected area management, conservation, land management and resource management from the field through senior management and policy. It is also an ideal reference for students and academics in geography, protected area management and from across the environmental and natural sciences, social sciences and landuse planning. Published with Wilburforce Foundation, WWF, ICIMOD, IUCN, WCPA, Australian Alps and The Nature Conservancy.


Overwatch

RRP $19.99

Written by a former Marine, this military thriller with an international cast of characters and an in-depth understanding of international espionage, is an action-packed novel written in the tradition of Vince Flynn and Christopher Reich. "Betley really knows his stuff. Fans of nonstop, nail-biting action will love this one!" (Kyle Mills, #1New York Times bestselling author).

Former Marine Force Reconnaissance officer Logan West emerges from a blackout after drinking away the worries of his ruined marriage and PTSD-an all-too-familiar scene for the recovering alcoholic. But he wakes up to more than a killer hangover: a professional mercenary has been sent to capture him in his Annapolis home. After an embattled showdown, Logan impulsively answers the dead man's ringing phone, triggering a hasty rescue of Logan's estranged wife and a global race against the clock to track down an unknown organization searching for an Iraqi flag central to a planned attack in the Middle East-an attack that will draw the U.S. into a major conflict with Iran.

Logan and John Quick, Logan's former platoon sergeant who has also been targeted by these shadowy mercenaries, are contracted as consultants to assist the FBI as part of a special task force. From the plains of the Midwest to the war-torn Al-Anbar province, the battles build in scale and scope and pit an international team against mercenaries and former Special Forces operators.

Mixing thrilling, intense fight scenes with high-stakes tactical maneuvers and complex, fully realized characters,Overwatch is electrifying, up-to-the-minute, and impossible to put down.



Search

Tie World Articles

Bow Tie Designer Tie Men Clothing Men Fashion
Men Shoe Men Shop Men Watch Replica Watch

Tie World Books

Bow Tie Designer Tie Men Clothing Men Fashion
Men Shoe Men Shop Men Watch Replica Watch

Tie World